Kalani

On 10/30 of 2009 I had to put my dog Kalani down.  He was a few days short of his 14th birthday. It’s been a few months since his passing but it’s still sad to come home without his friendly greeting or have him follow me around the yard.

A few months back, there was a Haiku Friday contest on the Grumpy Girl Facebook website with the topic “DOGS.”  It was a week after Kalani was put to sleep so it was a good outlet for me to express some thoughts and feelings I had on his wonderful life.  Here’s my entry that actually won that week.

He is man’s best friend
My most loyal follower
Never let’s me down

The first to greet me
When I pull in home from work
Jumping up and down

Protects me from harm
He awaits his tasty treat
Sit. Stay. Shake my hand

Time fades, as does he
His bark turns to cries of pain
My soul cries with him

Drip begins to flow
He peacefully fades away
Fourteen years of joy

Kalani in 2005. He was always happy until the very end.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by @nanigurl on February 9, 2010 at 5:30 pm

    I still can’t get used to pulling up to your driveway and not being greeted by his bark.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

