Kimchi jigae

The other night it was pretty chilly so I wanted to warm myself up with a hot bowl of soup. Feeling adventurous I decided to cook something for myself rather than buying something. I needed something to slap me in the face so I looked what I had in the fridge and freezer and decided it was a good night to make some Kimchi jigae!

Kimchi jigae is a simple Korean stew. There are many different ways to make this dish and I’ve noticed that many Korean restaurants prepares their own version.  So, here’s my version.  Feel free to experiment, that’s how I actually came about making this dish.

Ingredients:

1.  Chicken stock & bullion cube

2.  Go chu jang (Korean chili paste)

3.  Tofu (medium firm)

4.  Dried shrimp or clams (I prefer using this over Ajinomoto)

5.  Hot pepper flakes & chili oil

6.  Vegetables (I like using zucchini, onion, mizuna, enoki mushrooms, garlic chives and carrots)

7.  Kimchi, preferably a hotter more authentic Korean brand found in your local supermarket.  Not the milder version of local style Kimchi.

8.  Meat.  You can use the stewing type or even the meat intended for Shabu Shabu.  If you’re not a big fan of meat you can drop this from the recipe or add seafood like fresh clams or shrimp.

Cooking time is about 2 hours depending how long you boil simmer your meat.  Serving depends how much of the ingredients you add.  Roughly 4 – 6 servings.

You’ll have to forgive me as I don’t really measure my ingredients, I do everything by taste but I’ll try to provide you a guide.

1.  In a large pot mix the chicken stock with the Go chu jang.  The rule of thumb is 1 Tbs of Go chu jang for every cup of stock.  I again, go by taste and color.  Obviously the redder the broth the hotter it will taste.  Bring the broth to a boil.

2.  If you are using dried shrimp add a few.  Don’t add to much or your broth will be a bit overpowering with the taste of shrimp.  I added about 4-6 depending on the size of dried shrimp you have.

3.  Once the broth is boiling, add the meat.  The longer you simmer the meat the more tender it will be.  I simmered mine for about an hour.  Eliminate this step if you decide to go without the meat.

4.  Once you’ve simmered the meat long enough add your carrots, zucchini and onion.  These vegetables take a little longer to cook.  Simmer until semi-cooked.

5.   At this point, taste your broth.  If it needs salt, add some of the chicken bullion cube.  If you need a little more heat, add some of the Hot pepper flakes and chili oil.  Or…if you have fresh clams or shrimps, add this to the broth and simmer until cooked before you add any of the bullion cube.  The clams and/or shrimp will add some natural salt which may affect the taste.

6.  Once the clams and/or shrimp have been cooked, add your tofu, kimchi, enoki mushroom & garlic chives.  These ingredients don’t need much cooking time so stir until done.  A good indicator is to watch the enoki mushrooms.  If they are cooked, your soup is ready to eat.  Before you scoop the soup into your bowl add some mizuna and enjoy with rice!

Let me know if you have any questions or how your version turned out!

Kimchi Jigae, I didn't have any enoki mushrooms so I substituted with some Shimeji mushrooms.

5 responses to this post.

  1. thats maybe something i could experiment with at work

    Reply

  2. Never heard of kimchi jigae before. Looks spicy!

    Reply

  3. mmm looks awesome! i made kimchi jigae once and it was fun, but a little too watery i think. will have to try again – thanks for the inspiration!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

