Making a difference

Recently, I’ve come to the realization that we all have the opportunity to make a difference.

That’s so ambiguous!  What exactly does that mean….as I ask myself the question so I can state my interpretation…

Well, you can do something as simple as picking up a piece of trash or opening the car door for a loved one. Both actions make a difference.  By picking up the trash, you’re doing your part to help with the environment.  Opening the car door is always appreciated and can put a smile on your loved ones face.

Or, as @StarletShay claims to come up with the saying, you can “1-up” the effort and go big.  Tonight I read on the Honoluluadvertiser.com breaking news section that the winner of today’s 2010 Great Aloha Run race, Sergio Reyes proposed to his girlfriend at the finish line.  That’s certainly going to make a big difference in both of their lives.

My mom and her husband Fred recently returned from a trip to America-Samoa where on September 29, 2009 was hit by a massive tidal wave, killing many and destroying everything in its path.  They were there to donate their time – my mom helped out at the local hospitals and Fred helped build a community center that included showers, lockers and bathrooms for those still suffering the effects of the catastrophe.  There actions will certainly make a difference to those in need there.

A few years ago, doing some research for an advertising campaign, I tagged along with Hawaii Meals on Wheels to deliver hot, ready-made meals to the elderly and homebound.  At first glance I thought nothing about it other than delivering a meal.  But later did I realize that this was the only form of human contact that some of these individuals saw on a daily basis.  When interviewing the clients, it was learned that it was a lift of hope and happiness for them to see someone stop by and drop the meal off with the occasional, “talk-story” session.  I was astounded that something that took so little effort from me made a huge difference for them.

Hawaii Meals on Wheels

Isaac Newton coined the term “for every action there is an equal and opposite reaction.”  I like to think that for every positive action you create or undergo, will result in a form of positive reaction.  So the next time the opportunity comes up to make a difference, be sure to take it.  You never know what impact you’ll make for someone.

4 responses to this post.

  1. I actually didn’t come up with the term “1-up”, but I’ll take the credit anyways. LoL.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Joanna on February 17, 2010 at 7:21 am

    So awesome. I love your thoughts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

