Cold Udon

Recently, I read on Twitter that March was national noodle month.  After some research online, I uncovered that March is indeed the month to celebrate and honor the noodle.  I perked up when I read this since I love noodles.  Be it Italian, Japanese, Chinese, Vietnamese, Thai, Korean….you name it, I love the noodle.

To partake in the celebration, I decided to make some cold udon tonight after a day I did a double workout. Went to the gym this afternoon and did some crossfit training tonight…I felt I could use a carbo turbo charge.

So here’s my guide to making cold udon. Note, I say guide since everyone will have a different method and variety.  Choose whichever way you want it, here’s what I did tonight…

Ingredients:
-Udon noodles, preferably fresh
-Tomato
-Cucumber
-Nori
-Green onions
-Pickled ginger
-Shiba Zuke
-Kyuri Kappa
-Fresh daikon
-Fresh ginger
-Memmi or ponzu depending on your mood or what’s in your fridge
-Optional: shredded chicken

Shiba Zuke

Kyuri Kappa

Pickled ginger

Memmi

Method:
It’s simple, cook the udon noodles.  I normally buy the Sun Noodle flat noodle udon that you can find at Times supermarket or any Asian market.  Next, drain and chill the noodles in cold water while you cut your veggies.

Skin the cucumber, pit the seeds and julienne.  Thinly slice the tomato into wedges, try to get the seeds and water out so that your dish isn’t so watery.  Peel the daikon and grate into a bowl.  Take a paper towel and empty the grated daikon into the napkin and squeeze the excess water.  Put the drained ingredients into a smaller bowl.  Do the same with the ginger.  You won’t need so much ginger since it has a strong flavor, you don’t want it to be too overpowering.  Add the ginger into the same bowl as the daikon.

Next, drain your udon noodles and put it to a flat bowl, or any bowl.  Top the noodles with the cucumber, tomatoes, Shiba Zuke, Kyuri Kappa, pickled ginger, shredded nori and cut green onions.  If you have shredded chicken you can add that too but tonight I went vegetarian.

Now for the sauce, add the Memmi or ponzu depending what you like.  Tonight I used Memmi, but be sure you dilute it with cold water or you’ll be in for a very salty surprise.  Add the water to taste.

Cold Udon!

And there it is.  Hope your finish dish works for you too!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by @nanigurl on March 16, 2010 at 6:30 pm

    Yum! In celebration of noodle month I’ll need to make a trip to Hanamaru for their tsuke udon by the end of the month!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Joanna on March 19, 2010 at 10:21 am

    I love noodles too. Let’s eat soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

