Mushroom pesto pasta

Today my mom, her husband and a few friends of ours went to “Town” in Kaimuki for lunch.  My mom had this Hamakua Mushroom pesto penne dish which looked and tasted pretty damn good. Good enough where I had to make my own version at home tonight.

I have never made pesto before but I’ve always wanted try ever since I got myself a magic bullet.  There are a few ways to make pesto as I uncovered online but I went with the simple basic version.  Here’s what you need and how it turned out! Unlike most of my food blog posts, I actually have some measurements this time…but warning, they are guesstimates…

Pesto Ingredients (4 servings):
2 cups basil leaves…pack those suckers into your measuring cup!
1/3 cup pine nuts
1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
3-5 cloves of garlic depending if you get date that night. (Yes I meant to say “get”)
1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
Salt & Freshly grounded pepper to taste

Preparation:
There’s actually a specific method to making pesto if you have a food processor but since I had a magic bullet, I had to do it a little differently.  First combine the pine nuts and basil and blend the two together in your food processor/bullet.  Next, I added the olive oil and garlic.  Blend everything together until it has a nice consistency that you would normally see in store bought or restaurant looking pesto.  Once it looks good, this is when you take a taste and add as much salt or pepper as you need to.

Plating:
Sauté the mushrooms in olive oil.  Once tender, add the de-seeded tomatoes and some of the pesto you concocted.  Stir in your cooked pasta and add the rest of the pesto.  You then toss until the pasta is coated.  Dish and add some freshly grated Parmesan cheese.  Walla, you’re done!  It should look something like this.

Mushroom pesto pasta

There it is. Should be easy enough right? Go for it! I think I made a little too much but whatever, it’s always better to have more than less right?

2 responses to this post.

  1. I LOOOOOVE pesto. I tried to make it once but it didn’t turn out =(. My former co-worker’s wife makes awesome pesto but they live on Kauai so I haven’t had any since I stopped working…

    But now that I’m “trying” to grow my own basil, and if I’m succesful, pesto will be the first thing I try to make w/it and I’ll try out your recipe =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

