Movies that scared the living sh*t out of me.

10月29日

So now that I am older and hopefully somewhat wiser, there aren’t really many movies that put a scare in me anymore.  It’s almost that “been-there-done-that” attitude.  So when I sat down trying to put this list together…I really had a hard time.  I couldn’t think of any recent movies that scared the living shi*t out of me.  I had to reach deep and go back to my childhood…what movies kept me up, made me pee in my bed or have me cryin’ for mama…  Well here are my top 5 (in no particular order).  What are yours?

1. Phantasm (1979).
Damn it this movie really did literally scared the crap out of me.  I mean come on… you’ve got little people aka “Lurkers” dressed in robes who were made out of recycled dead people parts, flying silver spheres that shish kabob you, along with the Tall Man who never seems to die.  As if one weren’t enough, this movie had 3 more sequels…all just as freaky as the first.

2.  The Gate (1987).
There isn’t a whole lot to say about this other than you’ve got a gate to hell in your backyard and your house is full of little fu*king demons running around trying to drag you into the gate.  A corpse of a dead construction worker that was sealed up in your house is also hunting you down as well as the demons playing tricks on you – ie. making believe your dead mom has come back to life. Check out the trailer.

3.  Troll (1986) & Leprechaun (1993).
I put these two together because they’re similar where you got this short phugly creature coming after you.  The troll freaks me out b/c he injects you with this potion that turns you into a creature of fantasy.  The Leprechaun is similar cause he’s after you for his stolen treasure.  Either way, when I was younger both freaked me out.  The only plus about Leprechaun is that a young Jennifer Aniston is in this movie.

4.  Nightmare on Elm Street (1984)
The new version is crap. There’s something about the original, maybe it’s because I was in 2nd grade…whatever it was about this movie I know I didn’t sleep for a few days because I was sure Freddie would get me.  When I look back at it now it’s pretty classic.  Especially since Captain Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp) is in the movie as well as that dude who stared as Ritchie Valens brother in La Bamba…Riiiiittcchhhhiiiiieee!!

5.  Poltergeist (1982).
It was because of this movie I always made sure my TV was off before I slept for my entire time in elementary school. The last thing I wanted was some spirit pulling me in the TV.  Sh*t.  2 more came out but the first was the scariest.  I often wondered if our house was also built on a cemetery where they left the bodies but removed the headstones.  To make matters worse was the Poltergeist “curse.”  After every each movie, one of the cast members died.  See more about the curse here.

Leave a Reply

