Movies that make me hungry.

There are a few blogs out there that talk about the movies that make them hungry.  Movies that make you salivate puddles on the floor and so much to the point that as soon as the movie is done (or sometimes before it even ends) you gotta chow down on whatever you saw in the movie.  I don’t know about you guys but I know I’m guilty of that.

So of course even with all those blogs out there….I have to throw down my 2-cents and see if I rank with your opinions.  Feel free to comment if I left one of your favorites out.  To be honest, I think there’s some cheating involved because some movies focus on food! Well I guess that’s the whole point…but man I get tempted easily.  When I see my grandparents watching their KIKU-TV Japanese shows or K-dramas, heck all the food on those shows make me hungry.  Anyway whatever, here’s my list in no particular order:

Tampopo aka Dandelion (1985)
This movie will make you dying to eat some Ramen and Gyoza.  I sh*t you not.  Even if you don’t eat a lot of ramen or saimin, after watching this movie you’ll need to have some.  Even if all the stores or restaurants are closed you’ll need to bust that package of Sapporo Ichiban.

Yin Shi Nan  Nu aka Eat Drink Man Woman (1994)
I’ll say it here that I’m not a huge fan of Chinese food.  With the exception of Dim Sum, I don’t eat Chinese food too often.  But this movie will make you hungry for some Chinese food fo’ shua.  The storyline isn’t too shabby either.

Under the Tuscan Sun (2003)
I won’t admit to watching this movie….but can anyone deny the need to inhale some Italian food after watching a movie like this?  Check out the cooking scene below.

Woman on Top (2000)
Penelope Cruz and food? How can you not drool during this movie?

Ratatouille (2007)
Say what you want about this cartoon, even if the food isn’t “real” and you’ve got rats making the food…you still fee like eating after the show.  Admit it….

No Reservations (2007)
Not to be confused with Anthony Bourdain’s TV show on the Travel Channel.  This is the movie with Catherine Zeta-Jones and Aaron Eckhart. The entire movie revolves around a gourmet chef…most of the kitchen scenes make you hungry. ‘Nuff said.

The Ramen Girl (2008)
Really unfortunate that Brittany Murphy died so young, she played the role well in this movie.  And like Tampopo…this flick will make you so hungry for a hot bowl of Ramen, you’ll be dying to hit somewhere just to satisfy your hunger.  The movie itself is pretty good too.

Harold & Kumar Go to White Castle (2004)
Damn I love White Castle burgers.  Damn I love any kind of burger after watching the ending of this movie.

One response to this post.

  1. eat pray love makes me hungry!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

